Skip to content
Live discounts at 13 firmsSee every code
FundedCentral

Which firms require you to place a stop loss?

Three questions, not one: whether they require it, whether a mental stop counts or it has to be visible on the platform, and how many seconds you get from the moment you open.

8require it
10do not require it
2set a deadline
83not verified

The other 84 of 102 do not have this rule verified in their census entry. That does not mean they have no rule, only that it is not verified on their official site.

  • 10do not require it
  • 8require it
  • 1our census contradicts itself
  • 83not verified

The 18 that publish it

FirmRequired?Mental stop OK?DeadlineSource and date
Apex Trader FundingYesYes, mental counts○sourceAug 14, 2026
City Traders ImperiumYesNo: must be visible60ssourceAug 14, 2026
FundedNextYes○ not stated○no source link
FundYourFXYes○ not stated○sourceAug 15, 2026
FXIFY25% offYes○ not stated○no source link
Hola PrimeYes○ not stated○no source link
NEOM FundedYes○ not stated120ssourceAug 17, 2026
Top One TraderYes○ not stated○no source link
Alpha Capital GroupNo○ not stated○no source link
Alpha Trader FirmNo○ not stated○sourceAug 16, 2026
AquaFundedNo○ not stated○no source link
Audacity CapitalNo○ not stated○no source link
Blue Guardian63% offNo○ not stated○no source link
Blue Guardian FuturesNo○ not stated○no source link
FTMONo○ not stated○no source link
FuturesEliteNo○ not stated○sourceAug 16, 2026
Hantec TraderNo○ not stated○sourceAug 14, 2026
TradeXPropNo○ not stated○sourceAug 15, 2026

In their own words

What cannot be claimed here

Our own working note says City Traders Imperium is “the fifth firm to kill the virtual stop, after Hola Prime, FundedNext, The5ers and The5ers Futures”. Those four do not have the field read in their entry, so here they show up among the ones that stay silent. A note of ours is not four official pages with their dates. That is four entries left to read, and they are recorded as such.

Frequently asked questions

How many prop firms require a stop loss?

Of the 102 firms in the census, 8 require one and 10 publish that they do not. For the other 84 this rule is not verified. Every answer carries the firm’s official URL and the date we read it.

Does a mental stop loss count?

It depends on the firm. Apex Trader Funding expressly accepts “pending or mental” stops; City Traders Imperium says a “stealth” stop does not count and has to be visible on the platform. One of the firms that publish the rule requires it to be visible.

How long do I have to place the stop?

A deadline runs from the moment the order enters the server’s book. City Traders Imperium (60s) and NEOM Funded (120s) say so, and City Traders Imperium gives the shortest window. At NEOM a trade with no stop inside the window is evaluated as if it risked 100% of the account, an automatic breach under their 3% limit.

Where does this data come from?

From each firm’s own website, never from another comparison site. The census cites 1,196 pages across 156 official domains, and of the readings behind this page the oldest is from 3 months ago. When two pages from the same firm contradict each other, both are published with their quote.

The other rules